Tags

, , , , , ,

*I received a copy of this novel from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

It seems as though I’ve been hearing nothing but praise for Wolf By Wolf lately, so I was thrilled to finally have the opportunity to read it for myself. The concept of an alternative history, especially one based on events I was already familiar with, had me incredibly excited and I was not left disappointed. Wolf By Wolf certainly lives up to the hype.

The Good:

What’s not to love about a kick-ass heroine with Mystique-like powers in a World War Two historical setting? The genre provided a unique and interesting backdrop with which to tell an exciting and moving story packed full of action and emotion in every wolf-by-wolf-ryan-graudinchapter. Yael made an excellent protagonist. She was fierce and driven and she always managed to maintain the courage of her convictions in spite of having to face to so many challenges. Watching her struggle to establish her own identity when her very nature meant she rarely had a chance to be herself made for immensely compelling reading.  Also, learning about her ‘wolves’ via flashbacks gave us plenty of depth to her backstory.

Every character, even those less prominent within the story, were well crafted and intriguing. Nothing felt out of place – not even the romance, which I initially worried would interrupt the urgency of events and serious tone of the book. Each page moved at such a fast pace that I often felt as though I was part of the race myself; such an immersive plot made this novel truly unputdownable. It was wonderful. The plot twist at the end was a personal highlight that I didn’t see coming at all, which doesn’t happen often I can tell you!

The Bad:

My only criticism would be that I would have liked to have seen or heard, however briefly, from the real Adele Wolfe. Perhaps that side of things is yet to come, but it still left me with questions I wanted answering.

The Verdict:

Overall I think I’m going to give this book four point five stars. This is the first time I have read anything by Ryan Graudin but I’m confident it won’t be the last. Her prose is beautifully crafted and mesmerising to read and I desperately want to find out where Yael’s story will take her. All those who said this book was fantastic were absolutely right – I’m eagerly anticipating the next instalment.

