Tags

, , , , , , , ,

In my mission to finish a few more series sat on my shelves I returned to Veronica Rossi’s trilogy to continue on with the second novel. I was hoping for a continuation of the unique world building and amalgamation of genres that I got in the first book and Through the Ever Night delivered that, albeit slightly more clumsily than the first time round.

The Good:

The central focus of this story was definitely the growing romance between Perry and Aria, and although they were separated for the vast majority of this book I was glad to find that the distance never resulted in any unnecessary wavering in their commitment to each other. Even when Perry was confronted with the temptation to cheat on Aria when Kirra was plonked in front of him, he never did. In fact many relationship difficulty clichés were nicely avoided, which was nice to see. This separation allowed the author to show just how much the couple were in love with one another, not simply tell us.

The Bad:

cover-through-the-ever-night-ukSomehow the story managed to be both fast and slow paced at the same time. I think this may possibly because the chapters were short and the action would happen very quickly, almost to the point where everything was being skimmed over far too fast. Also, chunks of time would be missed in places which would interrupt the flow of the story. No sooner would one crisis be averted than the next would come along to take its place. However, when you get down to it, not a lot actually happened – Aria went somewhere, she came back; Perry had leadership difficulties and lost people, then went and rescued some dwellers.

My other major complaint was that we, as readers, were not given enough time to care for the character of Liv. She’s mentioned a bit in book one and seen for a while in this book before she’s suddenly gone again, and in the space of this short period of time we’re expected to believe in the intensity of her and Roar’s relationship and feel bad for her character’s situation. Any emotional impact was utterly lost on me because I simply didn’t care; to me she felt purely like a plot device for Roar to aid his character development.

The Verdict:

This was still a solid three star book but I wouldn’t say it was as great as the first one. It did address one or two of my complaints from the end of book one, thankfully, but some of the same problems I picked up on in my book one review (see: Paisley) remained. I think that all in all Through the Ever Night was more of a filler book; setting up the final novel which I hope will be awesome!

