Tags

, , , , , , ,

… in which our plucky young heroine experiences her first ever book signing and waits in a pretty long queue to meet an amazing author with the same name as herself!

Monday 25th May was a very exciting day for me because I was invited by Bee and Maddie to attend a book signing with them for none other than Sarah J. Maas, author of the Throne of Glass series! Sarah was promoting the release of her new novel A Court of Thorns and Roses at our local Waterstones book shop and as someone who has never been to a signing before this was such a huge deal! The event took place from 4 – 6 pm that afternoon and omigod I was so excited you have no idea! Here’s what happened…Courtesy of Heart Full of Books

When my friends came to pick me up we headed straight over to the Mall where the signing was taking place, and on the way there we had a full on jamming session to Taylor Swift’s 1989 album in the car. I’d like to be able to say we sounded amazing but the truth is I’m pretty sure passing motorists probably thought someone was being tortured. Still, better to go wrong with confidence, that’s what I always say!

Courtesy of Heart Full of BooksWe didn’t have any trouble parking when we arrived, but once we got inside we found that people were already queuing and it was only 3pm! True, it wasn’t an huge queue but it was snaking out of the shop. We ran a few errands before we got in line to wait and I bought my copy of ACOTAR while I was there in preparation for the signing. Other people had already purchased their copies or had brought along books from Maas’ other series to get signed.

The three of us waited for about half an hour before Sarah J. Maas arrived. We only got glimpses of her at first but the queue was moving quickly so it wasn’t long before we got a better view. While we’d been chatting a guy came up to us and wrote our name on a post-it note for when we met Sarah; everyone was allowed one signature and one dedication (the equivalent of two books signed I suppose).

Blog Photo 1Eventually we made it to the front of the line and found ourselves face to face with Sarah! I can’t tell you how fantastic it was to get to meet such a high profile author! The organisers were giving out cute little ACOTAR badges to everyone who came and Sarah had brought along her own 1st edition US Hardcover copy of Throne of Glass which she encouraged all of us to sign, which was a super cool touch!

All in all it was great fun, even though it was over in the blink of an eye. I was expecting to really struggle to know what to say to Sarah when I met her but as it turned out I had an advantage over everyone else because we SHARE THE SAME NAME! At the time it hadn’t even occurred to me what a great conversation starter that was! Her dedication in my copy of A Court of Thorns and Roses was the best!

Blog Photo 2I think if I was an author I would want my fans to feel comfortable enough to ask me anything about the world I’d created, that way I could ask them more than just how far they’d traveled. If they had been waiting in line for hours then it only seems fair that I should spend the time getting to know them too, just to say thanks for sticking around so long to make it to the front! Oh, and I’d definitely steal the idea of getting them all to sign something of mine!

My experience that day was brilliant and I can’t wait to meet other authors in the future!

 

(First two photos taken by Maddie and used with permission from Heart Full of Books)
