Tags

, , , , , , , ,

So Poldark is a programme full of drama, romance and shirtless scything. Also pilchards. Those are crucial. This isn’t the first time that the character of Ross Poldark has been pulled from the pages of the original novels and brought to life on the small screen, but it is the first time audiences have been quite so enamoured with his torso. But I watch for the plot. Obviously.Poldark_2015_TV_series_titlecard

The Good:

Let’s be real for a minute here guys: the cast in this series are amazing. Aidan Turner’s Ross Poldark is a strong, charismatic lead, made even more loveable by how sympathetic he is to the plights of the working classes. He and Demelza Carne (Eleanor Tomlinson) have real chemistry on screen too. One of the things I liked about it was the speed at which the initial love triangle between Ross, Demelza and Elizabeth was utilised for dramatic effect and then resolved; an example of a love triangle done well for once! We also got some complex bad guys, if you can call George Warleggan (Jack Farthing) a bad guy. I think he has more morals than his dad, that’s for sure, but he still needs to awaken his conscience before he can truly be considered sympathetic. Yet I’m rooting for him, I really am. Deaths are also done well in Poldark and always have real emotional impact (anyone who’s seen the series already will know which one I’m thinking of in particular as I write this. *sob*) which adds realism to this kind of gritty period drama. With any luck the next series will have even more brilliant tear jerking moments, surprise twists and witty comebacks.

Plus, shout out to Jud and Prudie for giving me a new favourite catchphrase! The number of times I’ve exclaimed ‘t’aint right, t’aint fit, t’aint proper’ in an argument recently is bordering on ridiculous.

The Bad:

It took me a little while to get to grips with the pacing of the series. The romance between Ross and Demelza, for example, was something I expected to unfold over the course of the entire series but the couple were married only a couple of episodes in. Entire months would then pass between episodes and it would take me a while to figure out how their relationship had progressed during that time, leaving me a little lost. I should stress that I definitely still believed in the relationship – Demelza and Ross were clearly devoted to one another – but I would have liked to see their love blossom over a more week-by-week period; at least to begin with.poldark

The Verdict:

I feel suitably guilty about this fact, but I didn’t enjoy the show quite as much as other people seemed to. I’d still give it 3.5/5 stars though, because it was great telly that made me laugh and cry at all the right moments and I’m a sucker for period drama anyway. Things can only really get bigger and better from here on out and I’m very excited to see where the writers take things. I’ll definitely be watching series two when it airs!

