Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Okay, so Homecoming was a book I had been extremely eager to read since completing the first two books of ‘The Hundred’ last year and when I found out that the third one came out so soon after publication of the second, well, I went right ahead and ordered it. I powered through it in a day, and while I thought that the book was a nice ending to the series I do think that the story has now run its course…

The Good:

I’m genuinely very happy with how this book ended. Before reading I didn’t really want the series the stop at book three; I wanted the storyline to continue down the route of the show and grow into something bigger, but now I think I’m at peace with the fact that the books will probably end here. There’s just no more story to tell and that’s fine. Let’s be honest, at this point I’m here for Clarke and Bellamy only! I love the fact that my ship is canon in the books so that made for a reasonable end to an enjoyable series! In fact most of the couples got to be happy together, and we got a good old-fashioned fight where the good guys come out on top. I’m very glad I got to read this, even though it wasn’t as strong as the first two instalments.

Also, I’m grateful that there weren’t any unnecessary flashbacks thrown in just because the technique had been used in the first two books. That’s not to say they were entirely absent but they were decidedly more controlled when used rather than dropped in all over the place.

The Bad:

Oh dear.

Homecoming_coverSadly there were some glaring disappointments in Homecoming. Brace yourself for some in-depth complaints. (When I got the first book I thought the ugly TV tie-in covers would be my biggest concern – turns out it’s the least of my worries!) One of the major problems is that massive plot holes in the book are never addressed to my satisfaction as a reader. First there’s the background of the Ark and the Cataclysm. The fact that these things were never fully explained in any of the books is really annoying especially considering how central to the plot they are. Then there’s the way that all of the dropship crash survivors conveniently forget about all those other dropships! If only a handful of your people manage to escape a dying space station you’d think someone would want to track those suckers down!

Also, let’s take a moment to consider a few unnecessary plot developments, shall we? For example: Wells and Bellamy discovering they are brothers, which added nothing to the book. Chancellor Jaha didn’t come down on a dropship and hug his boys and give some monologue about family or whatever, so the whole thing just fizzled out. I also feel like the whole Kendall being a violent Earthborn thing was blatantly intended to create mystery, but it really didn’t surprise anyone at all. In fact it was old news for anybody who had been paying attention while reading Day 21. But what is truly hilarious is that she causes all this trouble; disappears; returns intent on killing people during the big confrontation and we’re never told her fate! Is she alive or dead? Who the hell knows. I have one word: CONTINUITY!

Then there’s the relationship drama. In this book specifically, Glass and Luke never have a follow-up discussion of how Glass got Luke’s best friend executed. It’s so ridiculous because there is absolutely no consistency! Luke was (understandably) unbelievably pissed at her for doing that and hiding it from him, yet the moment they reach the ground he just seems to forgive her without ever acknowledging the issue again. That’s a pretty frigging huge elephant in the room! Speaking of consistency, you remember that Graham guy from book one who was a massive jerk and basically served as the main antagonist? Mentioned once. And suddenly he’s being nice to Octavia. Where the hell did that come from? He doesn’t even speak for goodness sake! Also, what the hell was the deal with Clarke’s parents? Morgan just chucks them in there at the end of the book with zero explanation of what happened to them. Sure, the happy family reunion is great but I want to know how on earth (pun intended) they managed to survive alone down there for so long and find themselves a damn radio! It’s just too much suspension of disbelief.

Don’t even get me started on Glass’s characterisation. She goes on and on about how much she loves Luke and would do anything for him, yet she can’t cauterize his wound and he has to do it himself. Then she says stupid things like if Luke dies then she will too because Luke is her only reason to live. Not exactly the most empowering message to read about in a YA book. I just want to give her a good shake and tell her to get a grip! Plus her whole plotline this time around felt forced and completely unnecessary. It really did seem like a last-ditch effort to add drama.

And last but most definitely not least, Kass, I do not need to be reminded of what happened in the last two books on every other page of this one. Trust me; I know what happened in the last two. I read them! I’m not that forgetful that I need you to give me the equivalent of a Previously On…’ segment at the start of each chapter at you’d find at the beginning of each new episode of the TV series. It got so repetitive. Please stop.

The Verdict:

I’m a little disappointed to report that three stars are all I can give to this novel. Overall, this concept had such potential to be a great series which I just don’t feel was ever fully realised. Some plot points are never explored in enough depth and I didn’t find there to be an awful lot of character development in this book. At this point I honestly think the TV show does a better job of creating a deeper story and more dimensional characters, but that’s for another post…

It might sound like I’m being really harsh but it’s only because I had such high expectations! If you want to finish this series and see the story neatly wrapped up with a ribbon on top then Homecoming is definitely worth a read.

