Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

(WARNING: SPOILERS!)

 

I’m not an emotional reader.

Don’t get me wrong, I feel for the characters, I just don’t have it in me to break down every time something sad happens. This means that on the rare occasions that I do, I remember it. So I decided to make a list of the ten most memorable moments (so far) I could think of that have left me teary-eyed.

There will be some spoilers from this point on. So if you haven’t read the following books and don’t want to be spoiled, go read them and come back later…

10) From Divergent by Veronica Roth – Tris’ Mother
So in the space of a couple of chapters Tris goes from being part of a loving family to an orphan. Why do the parents in YA dystopias always have to die? I was sad, but mostly for the character of Tris than for her mum, because she clearly wasn’t intended to be a major part of the trilogy. I was watery-eyed for a page or so, and that was it.

9) From Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins – Prim (+ Finnick)
Mockingjay was an emotional rollercoaster. There were deaths galore, but unfortunately not everyone got the send off they deserved. Finnick and Prim both died so quickly that I never felt like I got the chance to mourn them, so although I felt very emotional the waterworks never quite came.

8) From The Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling – Epilogue
These ones were happy tears! The final chapter was everything I could have wanted in an epilogue and more, and brought the whole series to a lovely conclusion. Having grown up on these books I was really happy with how Harry’s story came to a close. This series will forever hold a plethora of happy memories, and when I get round to re-reading them I know I’ll be bombarded with a sense of nostalgia. I was welling up more and more with every word; I must have looked a mess!

7) From The Death Cure by James Dashner – Newt
Newt’s death wasn’t a shock, but he was always my favourite character, so it was really upsetting when he was finally killed off. I didn’t like the book as a whole, but I thought that that particular scene was executed reasonably well, since I did have a few tears in my eyes at the end of the chapter when it happened.

6) From The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan – The Prophecy Fulfilled
During the battle against the Titans when the Great Prophecy is finally revealed, my emotions were running seriously high. The aftermath of Luke’s death and the gods’ victory had me reaching for the tissues to dry my eyes.

5) From The Maze Runner by James Dashner – Chuck
The death of an innocent kid is always sad in any book, but Chuck was loyal from beginning to end. He had a great friendship with Thomas and I really thought he’d make it at least into book two. I wasn’t as distraught as Thomas was when he died, but I did have to wipe away the tears as I was reading.

4) From The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch – Bug
Bug has appeared on my lists before, and with good reason. His death came out of nowhere and had me crying my eyes out for several minutes after it happened. Part of this was because the character was so young and his death was so needless, so it came as a real shock.

3) From The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan – Ending
That freaking cliffhanger! When Percy refused to leave Annabeth again I shed a waterfall of tears for them, because goddamnit why can’t they have nice things! All I want is for them to live a nice life without any dangerous, emotional demigod quests. Please Rick, no more – my tear ducts can’t take it!

2) From The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – Hazel’s Eulogy
This might seem like an obvious one, and perhaps it is, but Hazel’s eulogy for Gus was really well written. The tears were flowing freely by the end of it, and I thought the whole scene was a highlight of the book. Tissues are a must if you’re reading this book, because you will be in floods of tears at multiple points throughout. I challenge anyone to remain unmoved during this one. Tears shed = bucketfuls.

1) From The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey – Poundcake
When I read this I literally sobbed. Poundcake was a minor character in the first book and I am ashamed to say that I never gave him much thought while I was reading The 5th Wave. But Yancey made sure that all that changed in book two. He interspersed some chapter from Poundcake’s perspective throughout the first two thirds of the book, which was interesting because Poundcake is mute. We learn about his tragic backstory, but it never once feels forced, like the author is making you care because he needs you to. The sympathy is genuine, and as a result I had so many feels by the time the character’s death arrived that I was an emotional wreck! Congratulations Rick, you broke me!

 

What are your top ten tear-jerking moments? Let me know down in the comments below what it was that left you weeping into the pages or your paperback.

Until next time, happy reading!

