Tags

, , , , , ,

My biggest regret in life so far has been buying this book without realising it was the second in the series. This meant that I needed to buy the first book to read beforehand, and unfortunately I really did not like it. So now I was left with the sequel sat on my bookshelf, waiting to be read but knowing I probably wouldn’t enjoy it much. So in order to erase the lingering horror that awaited me, I took a deep breath and ploughed through. This was the result…

The Good:

Thea. That’s it, just Thea.  She was the only character in Lullaby who genuinely seemed to have a personality and some kind of depth to her backstory. It was Thea who managed to pull me through the boring bits with the vapid, bitchy sirens and kept me interested in the siren mythology. If not for her I might have given up entirely, and hers is the only story I’m even remotely interested in finding out the ending of. Oh, and Sawyer was cool, I guess. I was sad that he was only in the one book because he had an interesting dynamic with Gemma.

I will say that this book is a quick, light read, so it does have that going for it. I liked that I could read the whole thing in a day and it didn’t feel like a massive chore, and that’s coming from someone who didn’t even like the content very much!

The Bad:

The writing in this book is just as stiff and clunky as it was in Wake, and what is even more apparent is that Hocking has a definite tendency to tell the reader everything and not actually show them. Lullaby CoverThe pacing is poor, with the entirety of the first two thirds of the book going pretty much nowhere, especially for Harper and the characters left in Capri who do nothing but sit around feeling miserable and checking Facebook for ‘leads’ on Gemma. Dull and repetitive don’t even begin to cover it.

I didn’t think it was possible for a story to have such a juvenile writing style and then contrast it so starkly to some really adult themes. There are a couple of ‘F’ bombs, lots of blood and gore and some sexual connotations, but the words in between are boring and the plot uneventful. Gemma does nothing but pine for Alex; her whining is endless. And, as always, she doesn’t want to accept her nature as a man-eating monster. Who would? But it’s all in vain, and afterwards, rather than share the truth with her sister, she opts AGAIN to keep quiet and hide the truth (which will inevitably come out!) for no discernible reason. My hatred of communication barriers is nearly as strong as my hatred of poorly written love triangles.

The Verdict:

Well, at least it’s over and done with. Only one star I’m afraid. From what I understand, the quartet goes on to completely butcher Greek and Roman mythology, so if that’s the case I’m relieved that I can finally call it a day with these books. In my Wake review I said that I probably wouldn’t continue with the series, and as nothing I’ve read here has motivated me to read on, I’ll be holding myself to that.

