Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Like most of us here, I have an endless list of fictional characters that I absolutely adore, and one of the joys of reading is being able to continuously add to that list with each new book I read. But the thing is, characters in literature are often so diverse that we find ourselves drawn to different ones for different reasons. So I asked myself: who exactly is it that I like or dislike? And, more interestingly, why?
Spurred on by my own curiosity, here’s a list of the seventeen questions that I used to figure out quite why some characters I really love reading about, while others… not so much.

(Some possible mild spoilers…)

  1. Heist Society CoverWhich character would you like to be?
    Katarina Bishop (Heist Society by Ally Carter)
    Kat is just so cool! I wish I was an mega talented thief who could pick locks and steal stuff with ease, but sadly I an merely another mundane, ordinary student. Also, I should probably confess that my secret dream job is to be the sought after leader of an organised crime ring of teenage criminals, so I’m basically living vicariously through Kat’s adventures.
  2. Which character would you like to date?
    Razor (The Infinite Sea by Rich Yancey)
    This was a tough one actually, but in the end it was Razor (AKA Alex) who came out on top. I really admire the character’s loyalty, plus he’s funny, smart and more than a bit badass. 
  3. Which character would you like to share a room with?
    Isabelle Lightwood, (The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare)
    ‘Cause you just know you’d spend your days silently judging other people’s outfits together and having a great time.
  4. If you could rewrite any part of a character’s personality, what would you change?Shatter Me Cover
    Juliette (Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi)
    Omigod; what I wouldn’t give to make that girl less depressing! Seriously, she needed to grow a backbone way sooner than she did. She was just so submissive and self deprecating that she came across as pathetic and weak, so rather than feeling bad for her I ended up feeling super annoyed!
  5. If you could erase any character from a book, who would it be?
    Brenda (The Scorch Trials by James Dashner)
    Before I’m eaten alive, let me explain. It’s not that I didn’t like her personality, only that I thought her entire existence was unnecessary. She was there for the sake of  love triangle drama, didn’t undergo any real development, and basically only appeared because the one other token girl character wasn’t there. 
  6. If you could meet any minor character, who would it be?
    Olenna Tyrell (A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin)
    Because the Queen of Thorns is a total BAMF. Enough said.
  7. Which female character do you think kicks the most ass?
    Katniss Everdeen (The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins)
    Not everybody’s first choice, but I like her and I wouldn’t want to mess with her! She toppled a government; pretty impressive stuff.
  8. Which male character do you feel has the most heart?
    Leo Valdez (The Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan)
    Leo is a gift from the gods and anyone who disagrees needs to leave. He made a damn huge sacrifice for his friends and that took courage, not to mention the lengths he went to to keep his promises.
  9. Which villain do you love to hate?
    Jaime Lannister (A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin)
    So I’m not sure if Jaime technically counts as a villain anymore, but he certainly started out as one. But his character development is such that he’s grown on me exponentially as of late, and so while he’s not exactly squeaky clean, he is a bad guy I can appreciate for all his flaws. 
  10. Who is your favourite fictional couple?
    Percy and Annabeth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan)
    These two are just too darn cute together! This was also the first (and so far only) pairing that I shipped from start to finish. I love how their relationship growth felt natural and organic, and most of the YA couple cliches were avoided. Nice one Rick!
  11. SYBG CoverWho do you believe undergoes the most character development?
    Emily (Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson)
    Where do I even start? The change that Emily undergoes in this novel is extraordinary, and it never feels forced which is brilliant. I love how she grows as a person; the girl on page one is completely changed by the end story, but  definitely for the better. Authors take note: this is how you do it.
  12. Who would you deem to be the character that made all the wrong decisions?
    Tris (Insurgent by Veronica Roth)
    Sadly not a difficult decision. I had high hopes for Tris in Divergent, but she had to go and let me down in book two, didn’t she. Dishonour on you, your family and your cow, Beatrice Prior. For goodness sake communicate with people; your life would be a lot easier if you did. I’m praying things improve in Allegiant, but I’m not holding out much hope.
  13. Which character would you most want as your sidekick?
    Clarke (The 100 by Kass Morgan)
    She’s practical, determined, skilled and kind – an ideal companion. I imagine she’d keep me level headed if things started getting crazy, and a good moral compass can be hard to come by in YA.
  14. Which character do you think is the smartest?HPatPS Cover
    Hermione Granger (The Harry Potter Series by J. K. Rowling)
    She ain’t known as the ‘brightest witch of her age’ for nothin’ folks! Hermione is a brainbox, and I wish I was as intelligent as she is.
  15. Which character do you feel is the strongest?
    Celaena Sardothien (Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas)
    As I’ve mentioned before, this chick could kill a man with a hairpin. If that’s not enough for you then consider how easily she’s able to kick a man across a room with one blow, or scale a wall with nothing but tar covered hands to aid her ascent. Add to that her emotional strength as well and you have a pretty badass character.
  16. When you picture your least likeable character, who springs to mind?
    Walder Frey (A Song of Ice and Fire)
    Another of George R. R. Martin’s characters, this time a right nasty piece of work. Walder Frey is a slimeball, plain and simple, and I wouldn’t touch him with a barge pole.
  17. When you imagine the best protagonist, who do you see?
    Annabeth Chase (Percy Jackson and the Olympians)
    Because she can match Percy in every aspect, and sometimes even outdo him, yet she has her flaws and knows her limits. She is the epitome of awesomeness and is a three dimensional character with depth and complexity who is strong, wise, skilled and caring. She is a true heroine and you should all bow down before her superior existence.

If you enjoyed this post then feel free to leave your answers to the questions below.
See you next time, and happy reading!

