Tags

, , , , , , , ,

(Warning: Spoilers Abound!)

 

I don’t know about you, but when I’m reading a book I love to be surprised, whether it’s because the content is so much better than I was expecting, or  because the writing style works really well and I didn’t expect it to, or even because I’ve grown attached to a character I wasn’t expecting to like.

One thing that I can’t stand is a predictable plot twist.

Now, I don’t wish to brag, but it takes a hell of a lot to catch me out when it comes to books and their big reveals. I am not one who is easily surprised, so when it occasionally happens I properly freak out, and what follows is a compilation of the five biggest shocks I’ve got so far while reading…

Seriously, some major spoilers from here on out. If you haven’t read the following books and don’t want to ruin it for yourself, look away now…

5) From Day 21 by Kass Morgan – Priya
Sadly in this book, the character of Priya meets an untimely end, but this isn’t what shocked me. I was caught off guard by the identity of her killer, a girl called Kendall, who I didn’t pay much attention to, because she was hardly mentioned. We were led to believe it was someone else, but I had a feeling straight away that something wasn’t right. I certainly was amazed that I missed this one!

4) From We Were Liars by E. Lockhart – Ending
This is one of those books that you have to read to be ‘in the know’, and I certainly got a surprise when I read that ending! I had no idea that everything would all be in her head! I was slightly disappointed to have it revealed as a fairytale in the previous chapter before I could read the truth for myself, but I still gasped out loud when I found out. Then I simply had to go back and read the clues from earlier all over again!

3) From A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin – Oberyn Martell
I know it’s a bad idea to get attached to anyone in this series, but having been introduced and given such an important role to play, the last thing I was expecting was for this guy to meet such a grisly end. Still, if I’ve taken any lesson away from this novel it’s this: NEVER stop to deliver a monologue, even if you’re one of the good guys!

2) From The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch – The Sanza Twins/Bug
At the time I read this book I’d been lacking a truly unexpected plot twist for quite some time, and I’d just about given up hope until I picked this up on a whim. I didn’t know what to expect, but having the author unexpectedly kill off three characters in the space of about as many pages was not what first came to mind. I was in total shock for the rest of the day, I literally couldn’t process it. I’d spent a good two hundred pages getting to really like these characters and suddenly they were all gone! Talk about killing two birds with one stone.

1) From Fire and Flood by Victoria Scott – Dink
When I read this I literally screamed. I was that surprised. Not once did I suspect that Dink was a Pandora and not a Contestant, never! And the manner of the reveal made it even more shocking. Words cannot describe how utterly blown away I was. The subtlety with which the hints were laid out for the reader was brilliant, and everything suddenly clicked. Hats off to Victoria Scott for some fantastic writing.

 

Maybe you have your own top five OMG moments? Let me know in the comments down below what made you want to cry out in surprise, or left you sitting in stunned silence.

Until next time!

