Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

December is officially upon us, folks! Once again it’s time to string up those Christmas lights, decorate those trees and eat all of those advent calendar chocolates! For those of us still at school, it won’t be long now before we get to take a break from studying and enjoy a well-earned holiday, so in anticipation let’s have a bit of festive fun!

  1. ADWD pt2 coverCan you find a book with a wintery cover?
  • Let’s kick things off with the cover of A Dance With Dragons Part II: After The Feast by George R. R. Martin. You’ve got icy mountains as far as the eye can see, and nothing is more wintery than a grey, snowy landscape. I’m feeling chilly just looking at it.
  1. Where would you like to spend your Christmas holidays?
  • I thought long and hard about this, and I decided to go with Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. I mean seriously, who wouldn’t want to spend Christmastime at Hogwarts? You’ve got the food, the magical presents, the beautiful grounds all covered in frost… did I mention the food?
  1. Lightning Thief UK coverWhat book would you pick to read snuggled in an armchair, tucked beneath a blanket with a hot chocolate?
  • For me this is Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan. This adventure-filled book is just what you need when the cold wind is blowing outside. It sparked my obsession with Rick’s stories and introduced me to Percy and Annabeth, the cutest couple ever; (those two just make me feel so warm and cosy inside). This is one I’ll always go back to again and again and again!
  1. If you were to organise a snowball fight, who would you want on your team?
  • Without a doubt I would choose Annabeth Chase: daughter of Athena and strategist extraordinaire; she’d be absolutely ideal for this kind of thing! You just know that she’d beat everyone else hands down. Plus I bet she’s a brilliant shot too, so I’d hate to be the poor unfortunate soul who dares throw a snowball at her.
  1. Wuthering Heights coverWhat book would you happily use as kindling to keep your toasty fire burning?
  • Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë. This book may be a classic, but I simply don’t understand the hype. It may as well be called ‘everyone sucks: the novel’ because I cannot stand any of the characters. I don’t care if that’s the whole point; I didn’t feel for those people in any way whatsoever, and the endless string of unhealthy relationships were borderline stupid. I’ve read it once, and once was enough, so into the flames you go…
  1. hhcc coverWhat childhood book would you love to give as a Christmas present?
  • Horrid Henry’s Christmas Crackerby Francesca Simon. This brings back so many childhood memories; I’d always read one story from the book each night on the last week before Christmas. I did it for years – it was my own little festive tradition. Things are a little different now – I read whatever book is sat on my bedside drawers, but Christmas reading is still a big thing!

So, there we have it. As always, go ahead and leave your responses to the questions in the comments, and have a very merry Christmas!

